The Shakeology and T25 Experiment Part II

I said drink yo Shakeology!  Drink it!!!

I said drink yo Shakeology! Drink it!!!

Ending Week 7 of Focus T25 and about the 2nd month of using Shakeology.  For the Part I article about my experiment, click on over here.    I can easily say I’m in the best shape of my life, and attained within a very short period of time.  I ran through the flooding rain today getting to my truck and I felt like a Cheetah, except way faster and more nimble.  Okay maybe it wasn’t quite like that, but the fact is, this little experiment is working.  I’m trying not to proselytize too much just yet, but if anyone asks, I pretty much turn into a wide-eyed Billy Blanks as I talk about how awesome Shakeology and Focus T25 is.

That’s Billy Blanks on the right.  He really has nothing to do with Shakeology or T25, but if he were into it, this is how intense he’d be.

The Beta stage of T25 is where they starting hammering your core and upper body.  Alpha gets your lower body and cardio out of the way and set you up for Beta.  I started adding whey protein shakes for after-workout drinks to make sure I’m getting up to 150g/day.  With all the pushups and weights, you can definitely start adding strength at this stage.

I’m not quite to the point of posting any pictures yet.  Close.  But not yet.  I think it’ll be best to wait until Week 10 is officially in the books before I do a real before and after comparison.

I have a full 3 weeks to go.  As much as I’d like to just go to sleep right now, at 10:30pm at night, I’m about to do a back to back workout because that’s what Cheetah’s do.  I’m already looking forward to starting P90x3.  For anyone who has used T25 and P90x3, how different are they?  Should I skip the Gamma DVD’s of T25 and go straight to P90x3?

Also, feel free to head on over here if you’re interested in getting started with Shakeology or T25.

2 comments

  1. Jessica

    I tried P90X first, and then switched to T25. I loved the P90X while doing it, but it was INTENSE. I had a hard time getting myself to stay on track and continue with the P90X because it was so difficult. For me, T25 is superior because it’s not so hard that it’s unrealistic for me to expect to stay motivated. Since you’re a dude, maybe the P90X will be better, but I love T25 because I’m still getting a great workout, but as you mention in your blog, it’s so quick that I can get myself to do it even when I don’t feel like it. The P90X is a longer video (from my memory, which I’ll admit isn’t the greatest, I believe it’s about a 45-minute thing), and with 3 kids, a full-time job, and a commute downtown, it just wasn’t realistic for me. Looking forward to your before and afters!

    • Tim Scott

      Hi Jessica! Thanks so much for that info. So I’m assuming you did the full P90X? I heard there is a 30 minute version called P90X3. The time factor is definitely a huge decision for me on whether I’m going to do it or not. As you mention, I’d rather stick to the T25 and just make it more intense for myself (back to backs, heavier dumbells) than do a longer program if that’s the case. Obviously T25 works, so I wouldn’t have any problems continuing that and just getting the Gamma discs (have you used those? Are they worth getting?)

Leave a Reply

